Secrets Of A MultiMedia Artist: Interview With SizzyArt!

I first discovered SizzyArt one day when I was spending the day in Manhattan, NY. He had a table set up with all his artwork on display! I was instantly drawn to the table because it looked super interesting! I was very impressed by his artwork because it was very unique, with original designs, and pretty colorful! And I’ve been following his artwork ever since!

I conducted this interview so that you can gain a better perspective of the art life of an artist like SizzyArt! Keep reading to learn more!

1. Hi SizzyArt! Thank you for joining me!Tell me, how did you discover that you wanted to become an artist?

Hi Brittany! Thank you for having me. Well I discovered I wanted to become an artist when I was very young, drawing and painting as all young artists do. I chose the title before hand and made sure what ever challenge came with it I saw through. That was when it was as easy as telling your teacher what you wanted to be when you grew up. I discovered I wanted to be an artist again around middle school when I would get requests to draw pictures on my friends with markers as temporary tattoos. Again and again through life but most of the idea came from having the only job in which I chose the project and the tools.

2. Where are you from? How does where you’re from inspire your artwork? What else inspires your artwork?

I’m from Newark New Jersey, born and raised!!! It’s a rough city and I have friends and family that didn’t make it this far so the losses and community issues fuel my work a lot.

Other inspirations are ideas, religion, music, and cartoons. I’m also inspired by anything organic and beautiful like clouds or stars; the mysteries of things untouched like the the ocean floor. I like to create worlds revolving around the world we live in, shedding light on overlooked subjects.

3. Do you have any formal art training?

I’ve studied at the Art Institute of New York for some time in graphic arts and some tattoo education at Higher Level Ink in the Bronx, NY.

4. What art genre would you classify your artwork to be in?

It’s considered mixed media collage. I do a lot so I’m going for multimedia, but it’s all SizzyArt 😉

5. What is your most important artist tool? Is there something that you can’t live without in your studio?

My mind. I can’t do shit without the thoughts that start it all. I used to tell people I can create with just dirt and a leaf but the tools all there. On a more material level, I need headphones! I can’t get it going without sounds lol.

6. Are you following any current art world trends?

Things like “Inktober”; a self stared insta-trend where artists post 31 days of drawing all through the month of October. I never really participate but I always wanted to.

7. What message(s) would you like people to get from your work?

Everything is beautiful.

8. Are you working on any big projects?

Right now I’m working on a platform for my city called BlackBoyJoyNJ. It’s a multicultural space where urban individuals are highlighted. Urban issues are addressed, linking the community in arts and cultural fashion.

9. What role do you believe artists have in society?

I believe as an artist, we have the loudest voice in the room. The big brother that comes back to the school yard to settle the score, we can defend and stir up controversial conversations through image, video, and sound. Going back to the first question, when I discovered my power to do that is when again I decided I wanted to remain an artist.

10. Did you always want to be an artist? If you hadn’t made a living this way, what do you think you’d be doing instead?

This is a good question because I’m so wrapped up in the art world now. I don’t know, I really admire musicians, instruments and all. Or a surfer! But that shit seems dangerous! Maybe scuba diver.

11. What are some hobbies that you enjoy partaking in?

Playing Pokémon. Lol I love Pokémon I want to catch them all!!!!

12. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Maybe in another part of the world trying to be something else like that surfer so I don’t suffocate myself with art lol.

13. What’s something that people would be surprised to know about you?

I’m very OCD. I clean and clean and clean everything! I’m like that shrimp from finding Nemo.

14. What’s one thing that you wish you would’ve known when you first became an artist that you know now?

I wish I understood that money matters. The small jobs I had that got in the way of my dreams and ideas were small support systems also. I had this idea that I could pay myself more than I was making by selling art and never met my mark. Strategy is everything. Managing both sides of my life would have been a benefit as I grew into what I am now.

15. What advice would you give to an inspiring artist?

Follow your dreams, be smart, listen to your parents, don’t listen to your friends. Go outside, put your phone down, take care of the elderly, start working on your passport now! And see what you can create with what you have before you buy supplies.

I want to thank SizzyArt for taking the time to do this interview! I truly appreciate it!

I always appreciate artists such as SizzyArt that have the courage, determination, and creativity to produce amazing artwork to share with the rest of us!

You can check out more of SizzyArt’s work and stayed updated with all his exciting upcoming projects by following his Instagram page and by visiting his website as well! Thank you all for reading!

SizzyArt Instagram

Black Boy Joy Website

All images © 2018 SizzyArt

2 thoughts on “Secrets Of A MultiMedia Artist: Interview With SizzyArt!

Leave a comment